DIY PRINS

bushboy

DIY PRINS

#1 Post by bushboy » Mon Apr 23, 2012 6:49 pm

G'day all,
I'm new to the world of LPG but not new to fooling around with engines & cars. I have aquired a PRINS VSI system from a VW V6 Bora & will fit it to a Mazda MX6 engine, currently residing in my kit car.

On the Bora the installation of the injector jets into the manifold were lengths of plastic pipe, approx 5mm dia, locked inplace by brass fittings. As the inlet runners were long the platic tubes were also long so as to reach as close to the head as possible. A good idea?? My question revolves around the gas delivery tube after the injector. Does the tube need to be jetted? I was thinkiing of using a similar set up on the Mazda engine to deliver the gas as close to the head port as possible. However I am thinking of using copper tubing, not having the brass fitting but locking the copper tube inplace with a suitabel LOCKTITE product. Space is tight on the manifold & not having a relatively large fitting to get the manifold bolts & socket around is the goal.

When I have home internet access available again, I will post some pictures of the install.

Thanks

Bushboy
(AKA Martin)

rossko
Installer

Re: DIY PRINS

#2 Post by rossko » Tue Apr 24, 2012 10:49 am

The Keihin gas injectors are the parts that are sized. You can't alter them, only choose the correct ones to begin with.

I'd ask on MX6 forums about the approach to injection points (you might need to be diplomatic about the 'host' car). It's not essential to get right up to the valves, and potentially "too close" could give mixing problems. You do need to get downstream of any variable port or idle air complications.

Can't quite picture your copper tube arrangment, just gluing tube into the manifold? Could be a disaster if it loosens and falls in.

Valve situation is unknown to me, so I think I'd go with Flashlube for safety.

Gilbertd
Advanced Member

#3 Post by Gilbertd » Tue Apr 24, 2012 4:11 pm