LPG Forum


All times are UTC



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2016 5:27 pm 
Installer

Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2010 5:01 pm
Posts: 2986
Location: Yorkshire
Bentley wrote:
more pics. I have read the answers that were put up in the forum. and I'm getting closer to understanding how the problem might be solved and also the general drift of send more pics! Hope these clear up any lingering speculations. thanks again for all your help. Lee

Here are the further pics.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Clearly is a Blos with an R90 reducer and doesn't have a pressure operated flap opener fitted.

Has this ever run properly on LPG Lee?

Simon

_________________
Full time LPG installer
Servicing / Diagnostics / Repairs to all systems / DIY conversion kits supplied with thorough tech support
Mid Yorkshire
2 miles A1, 8 miles M62,
http://www.Lpgc.co.uk
Twitter https://twitter.com/AutogasSimon
07816237240


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2016 9:54 pm 
New member

Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2012 8:51 am
Posts: 35
Should run ok without an opener, they are good devices but almost impossible to get hold of now


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2016 10:23 pm 
Installer

Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2010 5:01 pm
Posts: 2986
Location: Yorkshire
Agreed with Tinleytech, I wasn't implying it would need a pressure operated flap opener...

Simon

_________________
Full time LPG installer
Servicing / Diagnostics / Repairs to all systems / DIY conversion kits supplied with thorough tech support
Mid Yorkshire
2 miles A1, 8 miles M62,
http://www.Lpgc.co.uk
Twitter https://twitter.com/AutogasSimon
07816237240


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2016 4:03 pm 
Installer

Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2005 7:56 pm
Posts: 2581
Location: North Wales
You only need the flap opener when the mixer is between the engine and flap. The mixer here is after.

As the lpg take off is on the top of the vapouriser first thing I would do is pull the plug to drain it

_________________
http://www.classicswede.com/
http://www.classicswede.co.uk/LPG/cat17 ... 10800.aspx

LPG installer Anglesey North Wales

DIY LPG Kits

07824887160


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2016 5:48 pm 
Installer

Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2010 5:01 pm
Posts: 2986
Location: Yorkshire
All looks shiny and new though, unless it's the light! I wonder how long it's been fitted and if it ever ran right?

_________________
Full time LPG installer
Servicing / Diagnostics / Repairs to all systems / DIY conversion kits supplied with thorough tech support
Mid Yorkshire
2 miles A1, 8 miles M62,
http://www.Lpgc.co.uk
Twitter https://twitter.com/AutogasSimon
07816237240


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2016 6:18 pm 
New member

Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2016 5:00 pm
Posts: 15
it seems to run fine on the motorway. only stalls in stop and go town driving. It looks shiny and new as it was fitted only 2 yrs ago. and has done less than300 miles. it runs fine on petrol,but super expensive 10mpg,in town.thus the low mileage. The fitters in Norfolk took 3mnths.and £2ooo. used it for their own transport and found everyway they could to bump up final bill. A nightmare poison dwarf in charge and recommend avoiding like the plague. But it is what it is. caveat emptor.
sorry but explanation from installer non existent so don't understand about pull plug and drain or changing filters. The only adjustment I know are the red top screw by finger and gold one on top by screwdriver.
once again I thank you for your forbearance with my low tech/mech. but I'm keen to know.
Thanks, Lee


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2016 6:58 pm 
Intermediate Member

Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 12:21 pm
Posts: 893
Location: Milton Keynes
bentley wrote:
it seems to run fine on the motorway. only stalls in stop and go town driving. It looks shiny and new as it was fitted only 2 yrs ago. and has done less than300 miles. it runs fine on petrol,but super expensive 10mpg,in town.thus the low mileage. The fitters in Norfolk took 3mnths.and £2ooo. used it for their own transport and found everyway they could to bump up final bill. A nightmare poison dwarf in charge and recommend avoiding like the plague. But it is what it is. caveat emptor.
sorry but explanation from installer non existent so don't understand about pull plug and drain or changing filters. The only adjustment I know are the red top screw by finger and gold one on top by screwdriver.
once again I thank you for your forbearance with my low tech/mech. but I'm keen to know.
Thanks, Lee


There is two outlets on that reducer - one is at the top you have connected to the blos unit by hose, the other will be at the bottom on the same side, either can be used but if the top one is used then the bottom half of the unit can fill up with heavy ends etc and restrict the flow through the unit. All thats being suggested is to remove the bottom plug to allow anything gathered there to flow out (get the unit warmed up first to help with this, you will get a little gas come out as you release it, but nothing major as long as its not running at the time).

Though if its only done 300 miles (is that 300 on gas, or 300 total?) then its probably not that, though easy enough to check.

The reply from Tinleytech has a few pointers, it may be worth running that past someone if your not happy tacking yourself (what they suggest should be fairly easy to achieve, in so far as reorientating the blos unit and then adjusting the mixture using the controls you already have found - their reply below

Tinleytech wrote:
That is a Blos mixer but fitted upside down, they recommend to fit with the gas input on top, can be angled either side but must be higher than horizontal. Not certain if this has direct effect on running (or is more for longevity by allowing release of contaminants) but definitely worth spinning it over first.
Adjustment is all on the mixer the small screw in the (what should be) bottom is the idle and the bigger one the main adjuster. Normally set the reducer with the smaller screw about half a turn out from lightly seated and the big screw about 3 turns out from lightly seated. The blos tends to slam the reducer fully open as soon as you get off idle (the slide in the mixer regulates gas flow) so no point in fiddling with the main adjuster on the reducer after initial setting.
Best to check CO pecentage if you can, about 1.5% on idle and 0.75% at 3000rpm is correct but not an exact science!

hope this helps.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2017 6:14 pm 
New member

Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2016 5:00 pm
Posts: 15
thanks tinleytech have set the 2 screws to 1/2 on small(pink) and 3 on large brass one and it seems to have done the trick, fingers crossed. thanks to all for your help you've made an old man happy and if any of you are down in "the smoke" look me up and i'll stand you a drink. Lee


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Mar 27, 2017 5:08 pm 
New member

Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2016 5:00 pm
Posts: 15
just had it on a trip to peak district and it ran very well but a few small hiccups occurred. at speed on the motorway after a steady hour on lpg it would cut out 9sort of a cough)I switch over to petrol and ran about 10 min then switched back with no problem. also coming off motorway it didn't stall immediately as before but after 10-15 min would stall and I'd have to switch. switching was never any problem up take was immediate. Up hill and down dale it performed perfectly. I think it just needs a finer adjustment to the pink and brass nobs or maybe the idle. on lpg it idles at 5000 on petrol at 7500. any ideas or advice will be graciously received.
thanks Lee


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Mar 27, 2017 6:11 pm 
Installer

Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2010 5:01 pm
Posts: 2986
Location: Yorkshire
A bit more info would be handy to best advise...
How much gas was in the tank during cutting out?
Did cut out tend to occur under certain circumstances such as e.g. low engine rpm for a long time? Cruising / deceleration?
Is rpm always 500 on LPG and 750 on petrol or does that change?

Next time it cuts out on LPG I would immediately pull up (if safe) without restarting the engine and feel the temperature of the LPG reducer and gas pipe that feed it under the bonnet.

Simon

_________________
Full time LPG installer
Servicing / Diagnostics / Repairs to all systems / DIY conversion kits supplied with thorough tech support
Mid Yorkshire
2 miles A1, 8 miles M62,
http://www.Lpgc.co.uk
Twitter https://twitter.com/AutogasSimon
07816237240


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Apr 05, 2017 6:36 pm 
New member

Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2016 5:00 pm
Posts: 15
Simon : the petrol was 97% and the gas at89% while cruising at 60-70mph. very small change rpm on idle and at speed dead in the middle of dial rpm with either fuel. Will try the heat test on reducer and gas pipe next time it happens. It's been suggested that it could be small split in vacuum hose but didn't say where hose is located. also I maybe wasn't clear on cut out. it didn't cut out completely just lost power for a second or two(not like at lower speed in stop start driving when it cuts out instantly. I then just put in neutral,switch over,and it starts right up.I sometimes do this when rolling up to lights, so I don't have to stop in traffic) , before it actually cut out completely, I switched over to petrol with no hesitation in performance. should I let it run it's course it's lpg if safe to pull over? and after check for heat start up as usual on petrol or try on lpg? thanks Lee


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2017 4:50 pm 
Installer

Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2010 5:01 pm
Posts: 2986
Location: Yorkshire
I haven't replied so far as I've been waiting for the answer to the reducer heat test.

Simon

_________________
Full time LPG installer
Servicing / Diagnostics / Repairs to all systems / DIY conversion kits supplied with thorough tech support
Mid Yorkshire
2 miles A1, 8 miles M62,
http://www.Lpgc.co.uk
Twitter https://twitter.com/AutogasSimon
07816237240


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 3:58 pm 
New member

Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2016 5:00 pm
Posts: 15
thanks for reply. I haven't driven long enough yet to get the reaction I described. thanks, Lee


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jul 17, 2017 6:22 pm 
New member

Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2016 5:00 pm
Posts: 15
finally got it out for a run and when it cut out on lpg was able to pull over and check heat of hoses. the single one on the bottom was so hot I could barely touch it. the 2 above it that are zip locked together were very hot but could touch them for a few seconds. the top one of those 2 was very marginally cooler but still both were very hot. hope this info might help. I've kept the 2 adjusting screws in the same positions as suggested before thanks Lee


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group