LPG Forum

All times are UTC

Post subject: SELF INSTALL
PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2010 1:58 pm 

Hi I am a newbie to the forum and now I am retired I am going to fit my own system to my mercedes E200 kt. I a time served mechanical engineer with 48 years in engineering and have garage with ramp and time to make a good job of ths fitting. I have been reading all sorts of different material and conversing with the manufacturers of my particulat kit for a few months now and i am going to start the fitting next week.
The only thing i am uncertain of is the distance the two vent pipes have to be from the exhaust, and in all the reading i have done seems there are a few variations on this. I hope someone can give me some help on the correct recomendation on this it would be gratefully recieved. Andy :roll:

Post subject: Re: SELF INSTALL
PostPosted: Sat Jan 16, 2010 5:30 pm 
Intermediate Member

For the benefit of others looking for the answer (and to allow comment if anyone thinks I'm wrong !), I'll repeat what I put in my email earlier :
Quote:
Well CoP11 which is "the bible" says :
Free cross sectional area of not less than 450mm^2, tubing should preferably fall throughout it's length.

Openings should be :
1) direct to the outside air
2) no closer than 100mm from engine exhaust system or other heat sources, and not directed directly towards them
3) protected by position or other means from blockage

So no direct prohibition from being above the exhaust, but if the vent is vertical it would fail the second bit of item 2.

Alternatively the tanks can be in separate compartment which is sealed from the rest of the vehicle. In this case, the compartment should be vented by openings totalling 2,000mm^2. They should be direct to outside air at the lowest practical position in the compartment, plus items 2 & 3 above.