LPG Forum

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Fri May 18, 2012 8:47 pm 

hi to all...ive been working on my truck for over two years now and am bringing it out for the summer..

now its around 3.9ltr 1956 engine..nuffing flash..more like a tractor!. ive changed the gears out in the rear diff and also put a webber carb on to help it run better. ( it a little rich still) and im only doing around 14-15 mpg.

ive a speed of around 65mph..but you have to hold on tight..!!!

im looking for help to change over to lpg...im looking for someone around the cambridge area or anywhere really who knows how to make it run well, ive done a installation before on a air cooled vw...so just really need someone to help me work out what best to fit..,sell me the parts and then help final set up after i have installed it all.

any help or ideas welcome!

PostPosted: Fri May 18, 2012 9:15 pm 
Advanced Member

An engine of that era, particularly an American one, will have a cast iron cylinder head and may even be a sidevalve (I know a '56 Studebaker is). In which case the valve seats will be cut straight into the cast iron. VSR will be your biggest enemy.

'97 Range Rover 4.0SE, eGas multipoint, a project.....

Proud to be a member of the YCHJCYA2PDTHFH club.

PostPosted: Sat May 19, 2012 7:59 am 

Hi Gilbert thanks for the reply. the engine is over head valve and yes the cylinder head is cast..im yet to find out if. the engine has hardered valve seats..when i look on usa forums that talk of the chevy engine already having hard seat... i think not to be honest..

whats VSR stand for?

the engine is old and smelly already!!..i think if i can get it running on plg for the summer...come winter i will take the head off and get it ready for unleaded , lpg..im looking to keep the truck a long while and already have a few engines behined me.

is there any addertives / oilers i could add to help the head out?

PostPosted: Sat May 19, 2012 8:21 am 
Advanced Member