LPG Forum

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Sat Aug 29, 2015 8:33 am 

Good morning all, an Essex newbie here in need of some help......

I have recently bought myself a Disco 2 that had been fitted with a BRC system just over 2 years ago. It was an expensive install (The receipt came in at £2700 :shock: )

On start up from cold, first thing in the morning, it starts fine but try and drive it and it all goes pear shaped. If you so much as dare attempt to touch the throttle it loses all power and virtually comes to a halt. You can get it up to around 30mph by going through the gears using just the tick-over and a very light amount of throttle. This continues for around 2 or 3 minutes until it finally switches over to gas when all then is well. It will occasionally throw a wobbler when pulling away but on the whole in normal driving its fine. Idle seems to be surging though rising and falling between around 400 and 700 rpm. Again, occasionally at a standstill it will just cut out but starts again with no problem.

I took it to a Landy V8 man in Leicester who suggested I try running it on petrol only for a week and to be fair it seemed to cure a lot of the problem. He reckoned that the ECU was reading a lean mixture when on gas and was basically adjusting the fuelling with petrol to attempt to cure it (obviously with no effect as its running LPG) meaning that on the first start of the morning its running super rich. He did plug it in and reported that all the sensors seemed fine.

The gas system was serviced about 8 months ago and on there it mentions that the fuel trims are out and a MAF was suspected. Not sure if that was ever changed but the MAF on there was an aftermarket cheapie so, knowing that some of these are rubbish I fitted a Bosch one yesterday.

Still running like a sick pig first thing this morning.

Any one have an idea where I could start to look?

Cheers

Adie

PostPosted: Sat Aug 29, 2015 9:19 am 
Advanced Member

adie wrote: