LPG Forum

All times are UTC

Post subject: Newbie saying "Hi"
PostPosted: Wed Feb 05, 2014 4:01 pm 

Just a quick hello at this stage. I have acquired an old American camper (1972 318 cu in) and I'm looking into doing an LPG conversion.

I've had lots of '60s/'70s American V8 vehicles and I'm very experienced in the mechanical side but I have never done anything with LPG before so to that extent it's a voyage of discovery.

There's the basic 2 barrel carburretor set up at present - I think I'd like to go single point closed loop (fit dedicated lambda etc.).

At least I shouldn't have a problem finding somewhere to put the tank/s :-).

Cheers

Steve

Post subject: Re: Newbie saying "Hi"
PostPosted: Wed Feb 05, 2014 7:17 pm 
Installer

I would suggest not fitting a lambda and just go open loop. Fitting a closed loop system will just introduce problems and will be less reliable for you.

LPG installer Anglesey North Wales

DIY LPG Kits

PostPosted: Wed Feb 05, 2014 10:27 pm 
Installer

Hi Newbie Steve!

What type of camper is this?
Pan type air filter? If so, how much space is there between the pan filter and anything above it?
Unleaded engine?

Simon
Lpgc

2 miles A1, 8 miles M62,
http://www.Lpgc.co.uk
Twitter https://twitter.com/AutogasSimon

PostPosted: Thu Feb 06, 2014 8:15 am 

The comment about doing it open loop is, in my opinion, utter rubbish. There is absolutely no reason why a closed loop system will give you more problems. What it will do is give you better economy and allow you to check that the engine never runs lean even at maximum load. As we all know, running a standard engine lean for any length of time really can lead to problems.
We nearly always close loop older vehicles and results are, without doubt, better than open loop.

PostPosted: Thu Feb 06, 2014 9:19 am 
Installer