LPG Forum


All times are UTC



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2012 11:12 am 
New member

Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 8:22 am
Posts: 2
Hi,

I'll start by saying I'm out of my depth here.

Had an engine warning light for a while so I had it checked. I was told by my garage its possibly injectors leaking gas and causing the mix to be out as the engine shuts down 4 and 8 when running gas. I checked this and if the engine is reset so the warning is out I can run on petrol fine as soon as I go gas the light is on and stays on even if I go back to petrol or empty the gas tank. I was told its not a biggy and to take it to a gas specialist when I had time.

Well I was away for a while and I asked a friend who works for audi if he could take it in and give it a look. They have a gas specialist there who said it has 3 faults. The error codes I dont have I'm afraid (could possibly get them). He said it sounds more like a hardware failure than injectors leaking and said if I can get 2 replacement emulators he will fit them as its just a matter of re splicing the cable before the ECU.

My question is where can I buy these things from? They are Prins emulators for 8 cylinder engines with 4 wires. The car is a Jeep Cherokee Limited 4.7 v8 1999.

Any help here would be greatly appreciated.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2012 3:21 pm 
Installer

Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 5:51 pm
Posts: 8096
Images: 0
Location: Wiltshire
You could try Prins
http://prinsautogasuk.co.uk/
you'll also find continental suppliers selling for euros

There is more to it than that ; it is true the earlier style Prins emulators (2 x 4-way packs for you) can be prone to packing up on one channel as they age. No idea if thats whats happened to you without the fault codes.
Good news is there is later type, more reliable. Bad news is that fitting those requires other wiring changes to alter the polarity of the command wire. Probably a dealer job all told?

_________________
www.blazegas.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2012 4:05 pm 
New member

Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 8:22 am
Posts: 2
I've looked quickly on their site but didnt find what I believe I've been told to find. I'll have another look but I agree I may have more of a problem than I can be bothered with.

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2012 5:10 pm 
Installer

Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 5:51 pm
Posts: 8096
Images: 0
Location: Wiltshire
They don't operate a parts web shop, phone 'em up and ask.
But do beware that a non-Prins specialist could struggle trying to adapt the system from old to new style emulators.

New style emulator
http://www.gasmotion.de/Prins-VSI-Emulator_1
wiring harness to adapt to older system
http://www.gasmotion.de/Prins-VSI-Conve ... t-Emulator
may not come with instruction

_________________
www.blazegas.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group