LPG Forum

All times are UTC

Post subject: BMW X5
PostPosted: Wed Mar 15, 2017 8:23 am 

Morning
I've been lurking here for a while but got my account opened recently
I'm an ex mechanic who now works in a motor factor (mainly because i prefer to stay kinda clean)

I have a BMW X5 3.0 2002 with the following conversion that was fitted about 5 years ago
73l spare wheel tank
omvl injectors
zavoli vaporiser
lpg tech ecu
flash lube
(apologies for the lack of info i'm going off the original fitting receipt)

when i bought the car i was told that the engine management light was on and "they all do that on LPG"
not a statement i believe i hasten to add

My fault code reader came up with running lean and lambda sensors

the running lean was down to a ripped intake boot (common on the BMW's) and a blocked crankcase breather system
the lambdas checked out ok but were still triggering the EML so i changed them all to eliminate them

i got rid of the warning light and random idle issues but i've now found another problem

when on the motorway and you "boot" the car to overtake it triggers the EML and cylinders 5/6 misfire
i've checked plugs and fitted new ones (ngk lpg1's i think they were) and also replaced all the coil packs

I've then checked the fuel trims and they are miles out on 5/6 (6 is the worse)
if I reset the adaptions and run the car gently (no heavy acceleration) then it runs brilliantly on LPG

if i run it on petrol and boot it then the problem doesn't happen and the fuel trims stay even across the board

I'm pretty sure that the problem is something to do with the LPG system and i'm pretty convinced that it's going to be something stupid like the vaporiser is too small for the engine size/bhp output

I know i could leave it alone and just drive it gently for the duration but i'd like it to be right

i have changed the LPG filter and I've put 6 new LPG injectors (the same as it had originally) just in case it was them causing the issue (it wasn't)