LPG Forum

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2013 6:41 pm 

Hi, I've recently bought a 2000 subaru forester turbo and have already fallen in love with it. However it has somewhat of a drink problem. Therefore I'm thinking of getting it converted to lpg. That's where you lot come in. I'm a complete novice when it comes to lpg and will gratefully accept any advice. I had one quote so far and was told that they would use a zavoli system and flash lube for £1500 +vat. Anyone know if that's what I'm after? Or even if anyone has converted subaru (turbo) successfully before?
Ps - the car has done 105k miles and as robust as subarus are , is it a good idea to convert a car that has done this many miles?
Many thanks
Rob

PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2013 6:56 pm 
Installer

Ive done plenty yes, there are some pics on my twitter feed. Good on gas them. Get it done. £1300 with electronic flashlube with me. All inclusive. :D

PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2013 7:04 pm 
Intermediate Member

I wouldn't worry about the mileage - I'm certain the LPG system will pay for itself in the remaining realistic lifetime of the car. I'd expect it to do the same sort of mileage again before serious problems arise.

What is important is how long you plan to keep it, as it's of no use to you if someone else gets the benefits of the system before it's paid for itself! Don't bank on any extra resale value, although it may make it easier to sell than an otherwise identical car.

PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2013 7:11 pm 
Installer

Yep done loads of them and one of the best possible cars to convert. Most of them get better MPG on LPG than they do on petrol. Tank is a bit of a pain with the shallow wheel well.

LPG installer Anglesey North Wales

DIY LPG Kits

PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2013 8:48 pm 
Installer